Sunday, May 18, 2014

Subie doobie doo

With Mark's persuasion, I caved in and got a new car. I have the mentality that if it's not broke, don't fix it. Well, as much as I enjoyed my Corolla, it had a lot that needed to be fixed. Plus, I was never as close to it as I was with my prior '98 Tacoma or the inherited '90 Plymoth Colt from my great grandfather (sadly, it was a short lived car).  The Corolla had hit the 10 year mark and was getting to the point where it wasn't the most reliable for long trips. Especially since Mark doesn't get the loaner perk from his old job anymore. My check engine light had been haunting me for months now and was looking like a $300-400 fix. Both bumpers needed replaced or repainted, the hood was dented from a large branch, etc... Mark loves his Civic and may have had a harder time selling it due to age, manual everything and no ac. I whined a little bit, but ultimately knew we needed a dependable car that won't keep giving us issues.

My first thought was to buy used, but Mark had some good points about the risks of used vs new. Neither of us had a car payment, so it was easier to rationalize a new car. You can't beat that scent :)

I wanted to stick with a manual transmission which is apparently a test of patience when buying a car.  Although it is the standard transmission, it is impossible to find at the dealer.  Luckily, there was one that was being shipped to another dealer in Ohio.  We were able to secure it, but had to wait 3 weeks to get it.  We posted my Corolla on Craigslist last Monday, thinking it would take awhile and few tries to sell it.  The next day, a couple looked at it and said they wanted it.  It took one day!  We officially handed it over last Friday.  They bought it for their son as a surprise birthday gift.  I settled for a little less than we were asking because they were going to get the engine light issue fixed, repaint and fix the dents.  I was so happy to know that someone was going to put the work into that it deserves.  Hopefully their son loves it!  This whole past week, Mark has been dropping me off a work.  I'm way too tired in the morning for him to put up with my backseat driving. We made it through the week though and it was nice to spend an extra 20 minutes together in the morning.

So, here it is... We are now proud owners of a Subaru Impreza! The only thing that might make next year's winter somewhat enjoyable. 

I love it!



I was a little worried about a white car, but it's a pearl white and beautiful.
My old Colt.  I was so upset when it was totaled.  Hopefully this white Subaru is my second chance!




2 comments:

  1. Your new car is beautiful and it looks like a very nice ride! Congratulations!

    ReplyDelete
  2. AHHHHHHHHH I LOVE THIS!!! That is a really good looking car! I love the pearl white! It looks great and hopefully will give you lots of safe and happy miles on the road :) :) :)

    ReplyDelete